What if being Convicted of “Accessory after the Fact”?
In our previous blog on accessory after the fact we described the legal elements of the crime which should be proven by the prosecutor in order to accuse you of this offense. By the way, if you have been convicted of “accessory after the fact” in California, you will face either a misdemeanor or a felony offense, since this crime is a wobbler itself. The type of punishment will be chosen by the prosecutor depending on your criminal history and circumstances surrounding the case. The punishment involves a fine of up to $5,000 and
- up to one year in a county jail for a misdemeanor; and
- 16 months or two or three years in the California State Prison for a felony.
HOW TO REDUCE MY CHARGES?
Fortunately, there are number of strategies that can be applied on your behalf in order to reduce or dismiss your charges. Here are some of those:
- you didn’t know about the felony;
- there was no felony;
- you acted under duress;
- you were a witness and you didn’t have any connection to the crime;
- you were falsely accused or you were a victim of mistaken identity.
CALL US NOW AT 818-553-1000
Don’t hesitate to contact the Margarian Law Firm and receive free case consultation. Just dial our number (818-553-1000) and our attorney at law will answer all your questions. You can also visit our firm at Glendale, CA or submit an online case application form. We are addicted to help you.