Reinstatement of California Driver’s License

reinstament of california driver's license

Have you lost your driver’s license in California? Do you want to reinstate it?

We are glad to provide you main steps in order to reinstate your California driver’s license. We will sum up the required legal procedures and to make understand the most common issues. In general, the process includes paying fines, getting a car insurance as well as the offender should complete the terms of the existing probation. In addition, depending on the particularities of causes provoked the suspension; the law states certain additional requirements.

However, if your driver’s license has been suspended and the term is up, it must have been sent a Notice of Restoration. Consequently, you should pay a reinstatement fee to get the driver’s license back. You should fulfill your all obligations before starting driving, otherwise, you risk face new penalties. If you have not received the Notice of Restoration, it is time to contact the DMV in order to correct the mistake.

Below we will describe the main steps to complete in order to reinstate your driver’s license in California depending whether it has been suspended, revoked or canceled.

In order to reinstate you cancelled driver’s license in California you need to complete the following steps:

1. Provide a Form 44 to DMV in order to apply for a new California Driver’s License. The DL 44 is not provided online because the form requires original signatures. In addition, each DL 44 has a unique barcode which must be scanned or keyed only by the DMV employee.
2. Provide the DMV by your Social Security number, thumbprint and photo.
3. You are required to show the DMV a certified copy of your birth certificate or naturalization certificate. Not U.S. citizens should provide the passport or resident alien card.
4. You must pay the non-refundable application fee ($31).

In order to reinstate you cancelled driver’s license in California you need to complete the following steps:

1. Complete all conditions and terms of the suspension or revocation
2. Provide a Form 44 to DMV in order to apply for a new California Driver’s License
3. Provide the DMV by proof of your insurance
4. Pay the reinstatement fee to the DMV:

  • $24 for suspension for possession of an illegal drug (HYPERLINK)
  • $125 for a DUI suspension or revocation (HYPERLINK)
  • $55 for all other suspensions or revocations[1].

It should be remembered that it is not allowed to get reinstated the revoked driver’s license in the following case:

  • It was a felony of assault
  • with a deadly weapon
  • a car was the deadly weapon.

In this case, you should address the attorney to get to know whether it is possible to get the Governor’s Pardon in order to reinstate your license.

Know you are be under probation during one year after having the driver’s license suspended. Keep calm and wait until the end of probation, evade unreasonable steps, if you do not want to start everything from the start!

Do you need to reinstate your California driver’s privilege? The Margarian Law Firm aggressively protects the rights of its clents in California. We will help you to understand the various aspects of your case.  Do not hesitate to contact us!

You may file your request online, by telephone or by mail. 818-553-1000

 


1] CALIFORNIA DRIVER’S LICENSE REINSTATEMENT MANUAL, COMMUNITY ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT UNIT LEGAL AID FOUNDATION OF LOS ANGELES

Copyright © 2014 The Margarian Law Firm. All Rights Reserved.