In general, a DUI is considered to be a misdemeanor in California. Nonetheless, the legislator outlines some cases with aggravating circumstances when the offender can be charged with a felony.
Under the following circumstances, the driver will be charged with a felony:
a) He or she was under the influence
b) Caused bodily injury or death to any person other than the driver (i.e. passenger, pedestrian etc.)
It was 3rd or more “wet reckless” offence during the last 10 years.
The penalty for a felony DUI may be up to three years in a state prison.
The Margarian Law Firm aggressively protects the rights of criminal defendants in California. If you have faced accusations of DUI, it is essential to contact an experienced California defense attorney who is will provide legal assistance. We handle every aspect of your case, from the very start through the very last court hearing, all for a flat fee agreed upon before we begin.
You may file your request online, by telephone or by mail. 818-553-1000
 This type of DUI will be considered as one of the following three categories – a) vehicular homicide, b) vehicular manslaughter, c) second-degree murder. If the California DUI defendant has prior DUI convictions, he or she could be sentenced to 15 years to life in a state prison.