California DUI Penalties by County

Alameda County

First DUI Second DUI Third DUI
  • 3 years of summary probation
  • A $390 fine plus penalties and assessments totaling approximately $2000
  • A 3-month drug/alcohol program
  • Two days of jail time which may be suspended or converted into a Sheriff’s work program
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
  • 4 to 5 years of summary probation
  • A fine of $390, plus penalty assessments totaling approximately $2000
  • A 18 month drug/alcohol program
  • A “mandatory minimum” of 96 hours in the county jail to a maximum sentence of one year.
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
  • 5 years of summary probation
  • A fine of $390, plus penalty assessments totaling approximately $2000
  • A18-month DUI school
  • A “mandatory minimum” of 120 days in the county jail to maximum of one year. 120 days may also be converted into a residential in-patient program and/or electronic monitoring
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)

 

Los Angeles County

First DUI Second DUI Third DUI
  • 3 years of probation
  • A $390 fine (which could be converted to 13 days of Cal-Trans roadside work or 13 days of jail), plus penalties and assessments
  • A 3-month AB541 drug/alcohol program
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
  • 3 to 5 years of summary probation
  • A fine of $390, plus penalty assessments, totaling approximately $2000
  • 18-30 months DUI school
  • A “mandatory minimum” of 96 hours in the county jail to a maximum sentence of one year
  • A suspension of the driving privilege that may be upgraded to a “restricted” privilege after 90 days if the Defendant installs an Ignition Interlock Device in their car and submitted to a chemical test
  • 3 to 5 years of summary probation
  • A fine of $390, totaling approximately $2000
  • A 30-month DUI school
  • A “mandatory minimum” of 120 days in the county jail to maximum of one year
  • A suspension of the driver license for a period of three years that may be upgraded to a “restricted” privilege after 180 days if the Defendant installs an Ignition Interlock Device in their car and submitted to a chemical test
  • Note: The judge can impose some additional penalties on a third time DUI in California such as attendance at AA meetings or alcohol treatment program, community service, or attendance at a victim “impact” meeting.

 

Orange County

First DUI Second DUI Third DUI
  • 3 years of probation
  • Fines plus penalty assessments, totaling approximately $2000
  • A 3-Month Drug/Alcohol program
  • 1-day MADD (Mothers Against Drunk Driving) course
  • 3 to 5 Years of Summary Probation
  • Fines plus penalty assessments, totaling approximately $2000
  • 96 hours to one year in county jail.
  • A 18 to 30 months Drug/Alcohol program
  • 3 to 5 Years of Summary Probation
  • Fines plus penalty assessments, totaling approximately $2800
  • Minimum jail sentence of 120 days or more
  • A 30 Month Drug/Alcohol program
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)

 

The Margarian Law Firm aggressively protects the rights of criminal defendants in California. If you have faced accusations of DUI, it is essential to contact an experienced California defense attorney who is will provide legal assistance. We handle every aspect of your case, from the very start through the very last court hearing, all for a flat fee agreed upon before we begin.

You may file your request online, by telephone or by mail. 818-553-1000

Copyright © 2014 The Margarian Law Firm. All Rights Reserved.