California DUI Schools

DUI Schools in california

If a person is convicted of a DUI offence, the court may impose to complete an Alcohol and Drug Education and Counseling program in California which can be provided be a state-licensed service provider.

The court or the DMV can enroll the person in such program.

The length of the program will depend on circumstances of the particular case. The DUI classes can be short from 12 hours and up to 30 months. It should be noted that a DUI conviction remains in the criminal history of the person for 10 years and this period begins to be counted from the date of the arrest. However, there are some legislative proposals to make stay a DUI record for 15 years, 20 years or even for a lifetime. It means that a DUI conviction will be used against a convicted for this whole period. Likely for DUI drivers such efforts have not yet been succeeded to come true.

In California, there are more than 400 DUI Education programs services licensed by the California Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs. The court will order to take a specific DUI program depending on circumstances of each case.

California’s costs of the DUI programs:

The average cost of a first DUI program which lasts three months and takes approximately 30 hours will be from $450 to $650. If the class will be for a longer period, the cost will grow pursuant to the length.
It is always useful to contact a state-licensed DUI programs services provider to get to know more about cost of classes.

Wet Reckless Program:
It is a less conviction than a DUI charge. If the BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) is less than 0.08, in most cases the offender will be obliged to complete a 12-hour DUI program.

1st DUI:

If a person is convicted of a first DUI and the BAC is less than 0.20, he/she will be obliged to complete a three month alcohol and education counseling program consisted of 30 hours. If the BAC is 0.20 or higher the program will last 9 months and consist of 60 hours.

2nd DUI:
If a person is convicted of a second DUI, he/she will be obliged to complete an 18-months multiple offender program which includes also individual interviews each week for first 12 months of the program.

3rd DUI:
If a person is convicted of a third DUI, he/she will be obliged to complete a 30-months multiple offender program which includes also regular individual interviews.

The link below will help you to find the most convenient DUI school with the offers of class that a DUI offender has been ordered to attend:


http://www.adp.ca.gov/Criminal_Justice/DUI/pdf/DUI_dir.pdf

 

 

Copyright © 2014 The Margarian Law Firm. All Rights Reserved.