Auto insurance is obligatory to drive a car. It is important to have a good insurance history to keep lower premiums in the future. The premiums are built up on the driver history and it helps insurance company to evaluate the potential risk.
DUI, different accidents and intoxication can all raise insurance premiums on a driver to almost unimaginably high rates. Drivers of cars should pay extra insurance costs what does not correspond to their personal interests.
In California, if you are convicted of a DUI it would arise the following problems:
- you will not be able to renew your car insurance
- car insurance premiums will be higher in comparison with the current rates.
The most important things to remember in terms of DUI and car insurance is that:
– the driver is not obliged to inform his or her insurance company about the DUI
– California insurance companies have no right to cancel the car insurance policy in the midterm of the policy.
When the DMV suspends or revokes the driver’s license, it is obligatory to bring a SR 22 coverage before it will get back the driving privilege. An SR22 form is a guide to the auto insurance policy, indicating proof of financial responsibility of the person. According to the California law, failure to either obtain or maintain SR22 insurance for three years will provoke automatic suspension of the driver’s license.
California law sets forth the required minimum coverage per incident, which is:
- $15,000 bodily injury per person
- $30,000 bodily injury for all injured
- $5,000 property damage.
Thus, a record following to the DUI can cause that the driver will be classified as a high-risk driver. In its turn, it carries sensible financial penalties as well as higher premiums for further car insurance policy.
The Margarian Law Firm aggressively protects the rights of criminal defendants in California. If you have faced accusations of DUI, it is essential to contact an experienced California defense attorney who is will provide legal assistance. We handle every aspect of your case, from the very start through the very last court hearing, all for a flat fee agreed upon before we begin.
You may file your request online, by telephone or by mail. 818-553-1000