In California, child molestation is a particularly vicious crime, and those being charged can expect for prosecution with maximum penalties against them. If convicted, defendants can serve time in prison, pay thousands of dollars in fines, and become a lifetime inclusion on California’s sex offender registry list. Anyone accused of engaging in sexual acts with a child also may quickly lose his/her job, be left by the family, and lose close friends.
Understanding that there are two sides in every story, you must be very exact with the choice of the defense attorney, to avoid making costly mistakes. Call us or fill out our contact form to reach a qualified legal professional with years of experience assisting sex crime defendants.
So what is Child Molestation under California Penal Code 288 PC?
California Law Penal Code Section 288 states: child molestation occurs when a person 18-years-old or older touches a child under 14 somewhere on their body for the purpose of sexual arousal. The offender is not required to touch the victim on their genital area for it to be considered a lewd act.
Example of violating PC 288: Dennis is babysitting his friend’s 10-year-old daughter. While he is babysitting, he takes the girl into his bedroom and begins to kiss her arms and feet. The actions cause Dennis to become aroused. The 10-year-old girl tells her mother about the incident, including details she had observed regarding Dennis’ arousal. The mom calls the police who arrest Dennis for committing lewd acts on a minor under 14.
Thus, what kind of penalties can the defendant face if the court finds him or her guilty of committing of child molestation?
Those found guilty of molesting a child face a felony offense that can result in the following penalty:
– up to 16 years in California State Prison depending upon the offender’s criminal history and circumstances surrounding the individual’s case,
– a limit on the freedom of movement, probation, and a lifelong requirement to register as a sex offender in the state of California.
It makes extremely difficult to “start over” once a person has been convicted of sexual activity with a minor.
The Margarian Law Firm aggressively protects the rights of criminal defendants in California. We will evaluate your case and prepare as fast as possible your defense for trial as well as we will negotiate your plea bargain and do our best to get the best possible outcome for you. Do not hesitate to contact us. You will get your legal assistance as soon as you contact us. We handle every aspect of your case, from the first step to the very last court hearing.
You may file your request online, by telephone or by mail. 818-553-1000